About Us

Tongass Federal Credit Union continues building its operations and services to the people of Southern Southeast Alaska. We are the community credit union on Revillagigedo Island (Ketchikan), Annette Island (Metlakatla), and Prince of Wales Island (Thorne Bay).

Founded in 1963 by a group of teachers and public employees, and soon joined by hospital workers, the credit union in the early days had humble beginnings. Originally it was a desk in the School Superintendent’s Office, as members pooled their money to provide capital (savings) and made loans to each other.

This concept of “People-Helping-People” still drives credit unions today as not-for profit financial cooperatives. Members are owners!

Some historical highlights:

  • Spring 1999 – our first permanent facility with drive-thru opened in Ketchikan
  • December 2001 – The National Credit Union Administration granted our community charter to include all of Southern Southeast Alaska
  • October 2005 – We opened a branch in Metlakatla (vacated by a bank)
  • March 2006 – Thorne Bay volunteers organized an ATM and two-day-a-week service
  • July 2007 – Thorne Bay Branch moves into Island News Building
  • June 2008 – New Branch opened at the Klawock Market on POW
  • November 2008 – Mary Frances Towers Branch opens in downtown Ketchikan
  • March 2010 – Klawock Branch moves into Klawock Mall Unit 5
  • May 2011 – TFCU Loan Center at 2106 Tongass Ave. opens
  • July 2011 Mary Frances Branch closed
  • June 2012 TFCUs new branch building opens in Metlakatla

Areas of Membership:

The areas included are the Ketchikan Gateway Borough, the Outer Ketchikan/Prince of Wales Census Area, and the Wrangell-Petersburg Census Area.

Communities included are:

Ketchikan Gateway Borough: Entire Revillagigedo Island (Ketchikan, Ward Cove, Saxman, etc.), plus Pennock and Gravina Islands.

Outer Ketchikan/POW Census Area: Whale Pass, Point Baker, Craig, Meyers Chuck, Klawock, Hydaburg, Coffman Cove, Naukati West (Bay), Thorne Bay, Edna Bay, Metlakatla Indian Community, Port Protection, Hollis, Hyder, Kasaan, Klawock.

Wrangell/Petersburg Census Area: The cities of Wrangell and Petersburg plus Kake, Kupreanof, Port Alexander, Thoms Place and Rowan Bay.

Click here to contact us for more information on membership requirements

Mission Statement:
"Our Mission is to assist, educate and enable our members to meet their financial goals through friendly, affordable and convenient services. As a community development credit union, we have a vital role in enhancing the quality of life in our island communities through member service.”

Tongass Federal Credit Union


Here are a few very important concepts to remember:

  • Tongass Federal Credit Union is a nonprofit corporation.
  • Our credit union is owned by its depositors (members). Our members elect a board of directors from amongst the membership. The members of our board of directors are volunteers and receive no compensation for their individual work. Our board directs credit union policy, set rates and ensures the credit union is responsive to the needs of our membership.
  • Dividend rates are set by the Board of Directors. Those rates are based on the earnings of the credit union.
  • The basis of our existence is helping people. Our mission is to deliver affordable financial services to our membership.

It is the policy of this credit union that once an individual becomes a member , they remain members regardless of employment or residency.

photos by: Diane Anders